Review What Really Happened In Peru | Sony The Book Lover

Review What Really Happened In Peru

what really happened in peru

Bane’s character has always intrigued me. So when I found out about this stand alone series I was excited. But you know what they say with great expectations comes great disappointment.The story itself was fluff. Unlike writer Clare’s Mortal Instruments & Infernal devices series.

I felt led around by the nose the break between both writers is obvious. The plot jumped around with no bridge between the four arcs to give the story better flow and cohesion. The half told narrative at first was annoying, at first. The dialogue felt forced and unnatural, like newbie writing or worse fan fiction . And we knooow writers Clare and Brennan can write but I don’t see it here much. The whole thing felt rushed. For me this version of Bane kinda of shattered some of that mystique I liked about him. Magus is funny and endearing man-child with powers.

There were a few sparks of substance though out the story the relationship between Bane and Imaus and its conclusion. When Bane and his companions talk about their heritage and mothers there is a genuine sadness there. If WRHP* was sprinkled with more of these precious moments, it would have made for a much story. And about these adventures he keeps referring to though humorous the details are glossed over as result no new information is imparted to the reader. And no direction for the characters to advance or the plot to properly develop.

While What Really Happened in Peru* is light, fun read. The purpose is to give new character insight. But instead its information recycled nothing told in those pages wasn’t learnt in The Mortal Instruments or The Infernal Devices series, unfortunately. Still Magnus’s character was entertaining and once I didn’t think too hard it was a quick read. Here’s hoping it gets better as series develops. And after all of that the question posed by the title remains a mystery. However I will be reading the other books in this series. I really can’t wait to see Bane’s and Alex’s story. I gave WRHP a three out five leaving room for improvement.

 


 

what really happened in peru

  • Title: What Really Happened In Peru by Cassandra Clare & Brennan
  • Series: The Bane Chronicles (# 1)
  • Published: April 16, 2013
  • Publisher: Margret K McElderry Books
  • Genre:Fantasy
  • Rating: 3/5
  • Source: Pulse it
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 133
  • Buy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

goodreads-badge-add-plus-2d25bb0f32eeac8660c13a521cf00c8e

 

 

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.

This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.

 


 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Just a girl mad about books and loves to talk about them. I read, and blog about books. I also review books on YouTube, I watch a lot of Youtube videos. I’m obsessed with HGTV design make over shows. Fan of Dr Who and so many other tidbits that make me, me.

Latest posts by Sonya Stephen (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge

Posted in Uncategorized